Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities

Canarian Observatories (OOCC)

The OOCC, operated by the IAC, are made up of the ORM (La Palma) and the OT (Tenerife), both located at a height of 2,400 m. The excellent astronomical quality of the sky above the Canary Islands, exhaustively characterised and protected by law, allows them to be astronomical reserves, open to the international scientific community since the year 1979. Currently, the OOCC host telescopes and instruments belonging to 60 institutions from 20 different countries, forming the most important group of astrophysical facilities in the EU, for night-time and solar observations, visible and infra-red, as well as the largest collection of multinational telescopes in the world. Other experiments designed for the study of high-energy physics and the cosmic microwave background complete the array of available facilities.

Main Characteristics

The Teide Observatory stands out for its atmospheric conditions and telescopes available for the study of solar physics, and the Roque de los Muchachos Observatory is one of the most complete complexes in the world of telescopes, in the visible spectrum as well as the infrared, devoted among other subjects to the study of the sun or cosmic radiation.

Telescopes located at Teide Observatory: 

  • Telescopio Carlos Sanchez
  • Optical Graound Station
  • Telescopio IAC-80
  • Vacuum Tower Laboratorio solar
  • CMB
  • Telescopio MONS
  • Telescopio Robótico Bradford
  • Telescopio Robóticos Stella I y Stella II
  • Optical Telescope Array (OTA)
  • Telescopio SON6
  • Telescopio Earthshine
  • Dimma
  • Shabar
  • XO Cameras
  • Cilbo

Telescopes located at Roque de los Muchachos Observatory: 

  • Gran Telescopio de Canarias
  • Telescopio William Herschel
  • Telescopio Nazionale GALILEO
  • Nordic Optical Telescope
  • Isaac Newton Telescope
  • Liverpool Telescope
  • Automatic Transit circle
  • Swedish 1m Solar Telescope
  • DOT
  • Magic
  • Super WASP



Si usted no puede visualizar este contenido, puede hacerlo a través de Facebook

Síguenos en ...

© 2020 Ministry of Science and Innovation