Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities

Unique Scientific and Technical Infrastructures (ICTS)

Unique Scientific and Technical Infrastructures Map (ICTS)


The ICTS FLOTA is composed of 10 oceanographic vessels, each with technical management and financing by the Central Government. These oceanographic vessels fundamentally provide services to campaigns being carried out within the framework of the Spanish State Plan for Scientific and Technical Research and Innovation and of the framework programme of the European Union, as well as the specific responsibilities assigned to different Public Research Organizations of the General Secretariat for Scientific Policy Coordination. The on-board technical support of the oceanographic vessels of the campaigns approved by the COCSABO is provided by the Marine Technology Unit of the CSIC. The ICTS FLOTA consists of the infrastructures, BIO Hespérides , CSIC Fleet, IEO Fleet and BIO SOCIB.  

The COCSABO attached to the General Secretariat for Scientific Policy Coordination of the Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities, is in charge of the proposal and coordination of scientific or technical actions carried out by scientific research vessels of the ICTS FLOTA.


The IEO Fleet is comprised by IEO oceanographic vessels R/V ángeles Alvariño, R/V Ramón Margalef, R/V Francisco de Paula Navarro, R/V José María Navaz and R/V Lura. It also has a remote operation vehicle (ROV) with capacity up to 2000m deep. The IEO Fleet conducts scientific research and technical studies in the field of oceanography, marine biology, including fisheries research an geology. Likewise, It provides support to the COCSABO for management and operation of the ICTS FLOTA. IEO vessels have their port base in Galicia and Palma de Mallorca, carrying out operations in Mediterranean and Atlantic waters.

Síguenos en ...

© 2020 Ministry of Science and Innovation