Flota Oceanográfica Española (FLOTA)

Flota Oceanográfica Española (FLOTA)

The Spanish Oceanographic Fleet is made up of ten vessels managed by different organisations. The COCSABO (Commission for the Coordination and Monitoring of Oceanographic Vessel Activities) is the official body responsible for coordinating the scientific and technical activity undertaken by the vessels of this distributed ICTS.

The Hespérides Oceanographic Research Vessel (BIO) belongs to the Spanish Navy's Maritime Action Force and is based in Cartagena. Its scientific equipment is managed by the Maritime Technology Unit of the CSIC. The vessel has a reinforced hull for navigation in polar areas. Its primary mission is to support the Antarctic campaign during the austral summer. It operates the rest of the year in the Mediterranean and the Atlantic and Pacific oceans.

The CSIC Fleet is made up of three ships and a set of scientific instruments that can be operated from any FLOTA vessel.

  • B/O Sarmiento de Gamboa
  • B/O García del Cid
  • B/O Mytilus

The Spanish Institute of Oceanography FLOTA​​​​​​​ is made up of five vessels and a remotely operated vehicle (ROV) capable of reaching a depth of 2,000 metres.

  • B/O Ángeles Alvariño
  • B/O Ramón Margalef
  • B/O Francisco de Paula Navarro
  • B/O José María Navaz
  • B/O Lura


Secretaría de la COCSABO

P.º de la Castellana, 162. 28046 Madrid


Select the type of error you wish to report

  • If you have noticed that one of the links does not take you to a page...

  • If you have detected an URL error in a link...

  • If you have detected a content error...

  • If you have detected content that does not display...

  • If the information has not been useful...