Structure and functions

The Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities is the State Administration department responsible for the implementation of the Government's policy on scientific and technical research, technological development and innovation in all sectors, including the management of international relations in this area and Spanish representation in programmes, forums and organisations in the European Union and the relevant international organisations.

  • Organisation charta​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Affiliated Institutions

The Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities also carries out its functions through dependent public bodies with specific remits. The State Research Agency (AEI) as a public funding instrument for R&D&I activities, the public business entity the Centre for Technological Development and Innovation (CDTI) for the innovation and technological development of companies, and the public foundation Fundación Española para la Ciencia y Tecnología, F.S.P.(FECYT) to promote scientific culture and open science.

This list of affiliated entities also includes museums, such as the National Science and Technology Museum, the Royal Botanical Garden, the Geominero Museum, the National Museum of Natural Science, Residencia de Estudiantes and Casa de la Ciencia, as well as royal academies.

Public Research Bodies (OPI)

These are public bodies created for the direct implementation of scientific and technical research, technological service provision, and other complementary activities, which are necessary for society's successful scientific and technological progress.

The following have the status of State Administration public research bodies; the National Scientific Research Council (CSIC) State Agency; the Carlos III Health Institute (ISCIII), which also carries out activities to fund scientific and technical research; the Centre for Environmental, Technological and Energy Research (CIEMAT), and the Canary Islands Astrophysics Institute (IAC).

Advisory bodies

The Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities's advisory bodies offer their expertise on specific matters.

The Spanish Research Ethics Committee is an expert in issues related to professional ethics in scientific and technical research. The Scientific, Technological and Innovation Policy Council is the general coordination body between the AGE and the Autonomous Communities in terms of R&D&I. The Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Council (CACTI) is the participatory body for the scientific and technological community and for economic and social stakeholders in matters related to science, technology and innovation. The Spanish Polar Committee (CPE) coordinates Spain's activities in the polar regions, constituting the Spanish Polar Authority.

Select the type of error you wish to report

  • If you have noticed that one of the links does not take you to a page...

  • If you have detected an URL error in a link...

  • If you have detected a content error...

  • If you have detected content that does not display...

  • If the information has not been useful...