"Cities of Science and Innovation" distinction

Red de ciudades de Ciencia e Innovación

This distinction recognises cities that promote economic sustainability and a pattern of growth based on knowledge and innovation.

The distinction was created in 2010 by Order CIN/2502/2010 of 17 September.

The cities that have received this award form part of the INNPULSO Network of "Cities of Science and Innovation" (ARINN).

The INNPULSO Network currently includes 83 cities of all sizes that fall into the following three categories based on the number of inhabitants:

  • up to 20,000 inhabitants,
  • from 20,001 to 100,000 inhabitants,
  • more than 100,000 inhabitants.

The "City of Science and Innovation" distinction and the INNPULSO Network have the following objectives:

  • To recognise and promote actions carried out by Local Administrations in the area of Science and Innovation.
  • To promote collaboration between city councils and networking and to serve as a model for other municipalities.
  • To contribute to a change in the production model based on knowledge and R&D&I.

The "City of Science and Innovation" distinction is obtained by submitting a candidacy for calls made periodically by the Ministry of Science, Innovation and Universities. It is valid for three years.


Subdirección General de Fomento de la Innovación

P.º de la Castellana 162. 28046 Madrid


Select the type of error you wish to report

  • If you have noticed that one of the links does not take you to a page...

  • If you have detected an URL error in a link...

  • If you have detected a content error...

  • If you have detected content that does not display...

  • If the information has not been useful...